MICNP Executive Board Members

Gretchen Schumacher

President - Term: January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2018

Dr. Gretchen Schumacher is currently an Assistant Professor in the Michigan State College of Nursing. She facilitates nurse practitioner curricula at the masters and doctoral levels. She is also a practicing FNP/GNP at Williamson Family Medicine in Rockford, MI. Gretchen has more than 16 years of academic, clinical and legislative experience that spans three different states. She is a strong advocate for advancing nurse practitioner education and practice to meet consumer care needs.

Email: gretchen.schumacher@gmail.com

Catherine Worden

President-Elect - Term: January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2018

As a family nurse practitioner, Catherine has focused much of her career on women’s health and adolescent care. More recently she has integrated both male and female patients of all ages into her practice. She is passionate in the treatment of depression and anxiety in adolescent and adult populations recognizing that depression is common in both sexes and affects those of all ages.  She is a graduate of Michigan State University's nurse practitioner program.

Email: catherineworden@gmail.com

Mary Serowoky

Secretary - Term:  January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2017

Mary's advanced clinical practice is in primary care, either in school-based teen health centers or as past clinical coordinator for McAuley Health Center. Her role as a clinical consultant for the Michigan Department of Community Health enables her to assist state-funded child and adolescent health centers in their delivery of high quality services. She serves as volunteer NP at Cabrini clinic (caring for uninsured adults).

Email: mserowoky@gmail.com

Denise Hershey

Treasurer - Term:  January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2017

Dr. Denise Soltow Hershey is an Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing at Michigan State University, teaching in both the PhD and DNP programs .  Denise has over 20 years a Family Nurse Practitioner, and currently works contingent in the Urgent Care at Hayes Green Beach Hospital in Charlotte MI.  Denise is the current past president of the Capital Area Chapter of MICNP.

Email: denise.hershey@hc.msu.edu

Olivia McLaughlin

Executive Director

Olivia Visperas McLaughlin brings to MICNP over fifteen years of experience in public affairs, including government relations and communications. She previously served as Regional Public Affairs Manager for Comcast, and as a staffer for U.S. Senator Spencer Abraham. A graduate of Wayne State University in Detroit, MI, and a member of the Michigan Society of Association Executives & American Society of Association Executives, McLaughlin has also served on numerous nonprofit boards and is an active community volunteer.

Email: olivia@micnp.org