Welcome to the Ann Arbor Chapter

Chapter Officers:

To contact an individual, please click on their name to email them directly:

President: Opal Lesse
President-Elect: Diane Asher
Secretary: Karen Scanlon
Treasurer: Donna Rossini
Membership Chair: OPEN
Education Coordinator: OPEN

Click HERE for Upcoming Meetings

Chapter Newsletter (link below):

January 2014

August 2013

May 2013

February 2013

December 2012

September 2012

July 2012

Chapter Meeting Minutes (links below):

Ann Arbor Chapter Board Meeting Minutes (links below):

March 2014

January 2014

Members' Accomplishments:

Dr. Joanne Pohl, Ann Arbor chapter member:  Please join me in congratulating Dr. Joanne Pohl who has been selected as the first recipient of the prestigious Loretta C. Ford Award for Advancement of the NP Role in Health Care from the Fellows of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP). In recognition of Dr. Loretta Ford’s induction into the National Women’s Hall of Fame, the Fellows of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) developed the Loretta C. Ford Award for Advancement of the Nurse Practitioner Role in Health Care. The Loretta Ford Award will be bestowed annually to a nurse practitioner who demonstrates participation in health care policy development at an international, national or local level; sustained and specific contribution to clarification of the role and scope of practice of Nurse Practitioners; and/or demonstrates a creative and effective action to turn a challenge to the nurse practitioner role into an effective opportunity to advanced practice and improved patient outcomes. All of which Dr. Joanne Pohl demonstrates in many ways. Congratulations!  Please click HERE to see the announcement!

Congratulations to the following Ann Arbor Members for their Achievements:

Winter/Spring 2012

Donna Rossini, the immediate Past President of the Ann Arbor Chapter, was named the 2012 NP of the Year.  Nominiees were evaluated based on their demonstration of leadership in the nurse practitioner profession and prefessional achievement, including research and publications.  As the immediate Past President of MICNP's Ann Arbor Chapter, Rossini was instrumental in increasing awareness of the NP practice to other healthcare professionals and to the public, by promoting activities throughout Nurse Practitioner (NP) Week at the University of Michigan last Fall.  During her tenure as president, MICNP membershp increased significantly, and MICNP's Ann Arbor Chapter hosted the 2011 MICNP Annual Conference in Ypsilanti, which was attended by over 400 nurse practitioners.

Beth Kuzma, Ann Arbor Chapter President, was awarded the 2012 AANP Nurse Practitioner State Award for Excellence.  She was recognized for her enthusiastic advocacy efforts on behalf of nurse practitioners in Michigan, especially in regards to the nurse practitioner's legislation currently being considered in the state legislature.

Rebecca Priebe, Ann Arbor Chapter Treasurer published an article, "Job Satisfaction in Primary Care:  What makes a difference to NPs?"  Click HERE to read the article.

Opal Lesse, Ann Arbor Chapter President-Elect wrote a letter to the editor in the Ann Arbor News, "Advance practice nurses are a safety net and need to be part of health care reform.  Click HERE to read the letter.

If we have not listed your accomplishment, please contact Beth Kuzma so the list can be updated.

Articles for Journal Club:

Community Events:

MICNP's Ann Arbor Chapter participated in a bladder cancer survivor walk on May 11th. 

Membership Survey 2012:

Presentation Notes/Slides: 

Legislative Outreach Committee:

Meeting Minutes


MICNP Business Office Hours
Monday - Friday
Phone:  734-432-9881   Fax:  734-432-9884
PO Box 87934  Canton, MI  48187
Email:  admin@micnp.org